The Structure of “The Weight of Glory”

I wanted to offer some really brief thoughts on the structure of “The Weight of Glory” – the essay we’re discussing this week in class (5/6). And though it might seem forced or tedious, I’d like to go through the entire essay together in class. (UPDATE 5/7 – see outline below)

Pulpit at St. Mary's

Pulpit at St. Mary's


I’ll spend the first 20-30 minutes chatting about Lewis’ conversion (really, it was a “reversion”) to Christianity, which was really just a hop skip and a jump away from his decade-long dive into theism.

Then, we’ll spend the rest of the class on this essay, which some have found a little challenging for our first piece out of the gates.

Here are some ideas to consider if you’re interested:

  • 1. Lewis is a man driven by reason and logic; his addresses are structured and his arguments are ordered.
  • 2. “The Weight of Glory” can be divided into two main sections: pages 1-8 are about “desire”; pages 8-15 are about “glory”.
  • 3. In both of these sections, the themes are developed gradually. At each paragraph, he’s furthering his point in an important way. Try summarizing each paragraph for your self and recording it to make a basic outline – then read through your outline, and you’ll get a high-level perspective of his message here.
  • 4. The thought he starts with is not left unanswered; the thought he ends with brings the sermon full circle.
  • After having gone through it patiently, taking note of the ordered progression in thought, I am even more compelled by his beautiful message in this address. I’m looking forward to what everyone else is thinking as well. Maybe after class we can continue discussion here on the blog…
    structure of the weight of glory

    35 Responses to “The Structure of “The Weight of Glory””


    1. 1 landscaper in chesterfeild May 6, 2013 at 7:25 am

      Hi there, I would like to subscribe for this website
      to obtain latest updates, thus where can i do it please assist.

    2. 2 Kasey May 17, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      Because the admin of this web page is working, no doubt very quickly it will be
      well-known, due to its quality contents.

    3. 3 Sabrina May 23, 2013 at 2:41 pm

      Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
      It’s the little changes that will make the most significant changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

    4. 4 find more June 4, 2013 at 12:22 am

      Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

    5. 5 site July 3, 2013 at 8:52 pm

      Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
      I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    6. 6 furniture village 2013 July 3, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      each time i used to read smaller articles that also clear their motive,
      and that is also happening with this paragraph which I am reading now.

    7. 7 rowing machine results before and after picture July 3, 2013 at 9:39 pm

      I constantly emailed this website post page to all my contacts,
      because if like to read it after that my links will too.

    8. 8 ipad mini case otterbox July 3, 2013 at 10:21 pm

      Every weekend i used to go to see this web page,
      for the reason that i want enjoyment, since this this web site conations truly good funny information too.

    9. 9 pokemon heart gold bagon July 3, 2013 at 10:56 pm

      Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
      Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
      checking back often!

    10. 10 Roberto July 4, 2013 at 12:18 am

      Thanks for any other informative blog. Where else could I get that kind of info written in such a perfect manner?
      I’ve a undertaking that I am just now operating on, and I’ve been
      on the look out for such information.

    11. 11 site July 4, 2013 at 12:55 am

      Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a
      similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of
      spam feedback? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
      I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

    12. 12 cheap juicers at target July 4, 2013 at 12:57 am

      Wow, wonderful blog layout! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?
      you made running a blog look easy. The full look of your site is magnificent, as neatly as the
      content material!

    13. 13 kindle skin mickey July 4, 2013 at 2:20 am

      I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining,
      and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I found this during
      my search for something regarding this.

    14. 14 website July 4, 2013 at 3:54 am

      I like it when folks get together and share opinions.
      Great website, stick with it!

    15. 15 How Much To Build a Shed July 22, 2013 at 12:00 am

      Stress is then a natural bodily function designed to help keep us alive and reactive to things going on in
      the world. The grid on the floor will keep
      these tools upright so that you can take them out and put them back in easily.

      Good’s Garden Sheds are not solely known for providing excellent quality storage shed buildings.

    16. 16 Brandon October 12, 2013 at 3:22 pm

      Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew
      where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?

      I’m using the same blog platform as yours
      and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

    17. 17 Krystyna October 17, 2013 at 8:38 am

      Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told was
      once a leisure account it. Look complicated to far brought agreeable from you!
      By the way, how can we be in contact?

    18. 18 Bethany October 23, 2013 at 6:32 pm

      Generally I don’t read article on blogs, however I wish to
      say that this write-up very forced me to try and do
      so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite great post.

    19. 19 Elton November 12, 2013 at 9:59 pm

      Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging
      for? you make blogging look easy. The overall
      look of your site is excellent, as well as tthe content!

    20. 20 published here December 17, 2013 at 12:37 pm

      We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
      Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on.
      You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

    21. 21 produce music January 12, 2014 at 5:36 pm

      I hardly drop remarks, but i did a few searching and wound up here The Structure of “The Weight of
      Glory” | Clive Staples Lewis. And I actually
      do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind.
      Could it be only me or does it look like a few of the comments appear like they are coming from brain dead visitors?
      😛 And, if you are posting on other social sites,
      I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Would you list of every one of all your shared pages like
      your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    22. 23 Total Wellness Cleanse January 22, 2014 at 2:18 am

      This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
      Thanks!

    23. 24 Fashion IQ April 17, 2014 at 2:27 am

      The risk of losing money is pretty great if you don’t buy gold below spot price.
      It’s charming to watch, and some bunnies enjoy doing it for spectators.
      The coloration of the line was so dark that my
      own eyes perceived it as a cool black, not as a shade
      of blue.

    24. 25 unit link terbaik di Indonesia Commonwealth Life investra link April 17, 2014 at 6:21 pm

      When someone writes an article he/she keeps the plan of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it.
      Thus that’s why this piece of writing is outstdanding.

      Thanks!

    25. 26 quality whey protein May 18, 2014 at 6:59 am

      Undeniably believe that which you stated.
      Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the easiest thing
      to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while
      people consider worries that they just don’t know about.

      You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out
      the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a
      signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    26. 27 Ciri vimax asli May 21, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      Just desire to say your article is as astounding. The clearness for your post is just excellent and i can suppose you’re
      knowledgeable in this subject. Well with your permission let me to grasp
      your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
      Thank you a million and please continue the rewarding work.

    27. 28 Lisette August 20, 2014 at 2:53 am

      A big component that has to be looked at is the quality of
      the camera lens you may be using. It requires a constant method of getting charged batteries to provide the photographs you desire.
      If the reply to those questions don’t connect reality, it’s time to start making some changes.

    28. 29 Shadow Kings Hack September 1, 2014 at 7:02 pm

      You can definitely see your expertise within the work you
      write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not
      afraid to mention how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

    29. 30 www.youtube.com October 4, 2014 at 3:52 am

      Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give
      you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the
      excellent work!

    30. 31 สล็อต ฟรี July 31, 2020 at 2:54 pm

      One other issue is when you are in a scenario where you do not have a co-signer then you may really need to try to make use of all of your federal funding options. You will discover many awards and other scholarships or grants that will provide you with money to help you with college expenses. Thx for the post.

    31. 32 Candida Prather August 28, 2020 at 6:48 am

      This piece of writing will help the internet visitors for setting up new blog or even a weblog from start to end.


    1. 1 The Weight of Glory by C.S. Lewis – Summary – The Prodigal Catholic Blog Trackback on May 11, 2016 at 10:14 pm
    2. 2 free passive income Trackback on May 23, 2018 at 10:02 am
    3. 3 writing good methodology dissertation Trackback on August 22, 2021 at 2:45 am

    Leave a comment